Directory
90 outlets. Type to search names, pay and notes. Every row shows when it was last checked.
| Outlet | Status | Pay (as published) | Word count | Last checked |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Aeon US / global | Closed | Not publicly listed: freelance fee or honorarium disclosed before… | Essays 2,500-5,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| AGNI US / global | Open | $20 per printed page (NBCC sheet, 2/8/22); outlet pages say reviews… | 1,500-3,000 (review essays) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Ancillary Review of Books US / global | Open | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Another Chicago Magazine US / global | Open | None (NBCC sheet, 4/28/26) | Typical review 700-1,200 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Asymptote US / global | Open | Unpaid for blog reviews ('finances do not permit us to pay… | Blog pieces 1,500-2,500 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Australian Book Review Australia | Pitch first | unpublished | Reviews often ~950 words | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Barrelhouse US / global | Open | No pay | 500-1500 (can be longer) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Big Other US / global | Open | No pay (NBCC sheet, 7/17/24) | Up to 6,000 (NBCC sheet) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Bookforum US / global | Pitch first | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Booklist US / global | Open | $15 per published review ($5 for rejected titles) + print subscription | 150-175 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Boston Review US / global | Open | About $500 for web pieces for writers whose main income is writing;… | Most essays 2,500-5,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Brick (Canada) Canada | Open | CAD $65-$720 depending on length, plus two copies and a one-year… | Tends toward 1,000-5,000 (no limit) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Chicago Reader US / global | Pitch first | $200 | 900-1100 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Chicago Review of Books US / global | Pitch first | $25 reviews and interviews; $75 features | Reviews 600-800; interviews 1,200-1,500 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Cleveland Review of Books US / global | Open | $100 online; $200 print | Not stated | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Compulsive Reader US / global | Open | No pay (outlet page via excerpt) | 600+ preferred, no upper limit (NBCC… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Dublin Review of Books Ireland | Pitch first | unpublished | Review-essays typically 3,000-6,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Electric Literature US / global | Closed | $100 for essays (paid on acceptance, per excerpt of submittable call) | 2,000-6,500 (personal-narrative window) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| EVENT Canada | Pitch first | $40/page for poetry and book reviews; $35/page prose; max $500 | 1,400-1,600 (NBCC sheet) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Foreword Reviews US / global | Open | $55 per review | Not stated | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Full Stop US / global | Open | Pays for feature-length essays only (special-issue calls in 2025… | Reviews 1,000-2,000; essays 2,500-4,500… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Guernica US / global | Open | $100 honorarium for essays per a third-party blog quoting Guernica's… | 2,500+ for nonfiction essays | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Harvard Review US / global | Pitch first | Does not pay (NBCC sheet, 5/5/26) | 750 (NBCC sheet) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Hyperallergic US / global | Pitch first | unpublished (third-party sites report $250-$500; not confirmed by… | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| In These Times US / global | Pitch first | $0.25 per word (NBCC sheet); freelance agreement sets minimums… | 850-1,200 (NBCC sheet) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Jewish Currents US / global | Pitch first | unpublished | Avoids pieces under 1,000 words | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Kill Your Darlings (Australia) Australia | Calls only | Aug 2025 call: at least $700 for nonfiction; New Critics program paid… | Criticism 1,200-1,500; essays… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Kirkus Reviews (Kirkus Indie) US / global | Open | unpublished (NBCC sheet lists $50 for trade sections) | About 350 words, due 2 weeks after… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| LIBER: A Feminist Review US / global | Pitch first | $100 per published review (outlet page via excerpt) | 1,000-2,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Library Journal US / global | Open | No pay | 175-200 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Literary Hub US / global | Open | $200 (NBCC sheet; not stated on pitch page) | 1,200 (NBCC sheet) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Literary Review (UK) UK | Pitch first | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Literary Review of Canada Canada | Pitch first | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| London Review of Books UK | Open | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Los Angeles Review of Books US / global | Open | $50-$100 (NBCC sheet, 1/20/22) | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Los Angeles Times US / global | No public guidelines | $400 | 800-1000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Lux Magazine US / global | Pitch first | 0.50 per word | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Meanjin (Australia) Australia | Calls only | unpublished (page says new rates being set) | Essays 2,500-5,000; reviews 1,500-3,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| n+1 US / global | Open | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Necessary Fiction US / global | No public guidelines | No pay | 800-1000 words | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| New Letters US / global | Open | $25 typical, not guaranteed (outlet page via excerpt; NBCC agrees) | 500-900 for single-book reviews | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| New Statesman UK | Pitch first | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| NPR (Books) US / global | No public guidelines | $300 | 500-700 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| On the Seawall US / global | Pitch first | $100 | 1,250 - 1,500 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Overland (Australia) Australia | Open | $180 online articles/poems; $580 print fiction & essays (+ super and… | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Oxford American US / global | Pitch first | $300 flat fee for 'Dispatches'; $100 honorarium for a second project… | 500-2,000 (Dispatches) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Paste Magazine US / global | Closed | $100 | 500-1,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Poets & Writers Magazine US / global | Pitch first | unpublished (pays when scheduled for production; third-party report… | 500-3,000 by section; 3,000 max on spec | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Polyester UK | Open | £65 flat rate (NBCC sheet; not stated on page) | 800-1,000 for completed essays | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Prospect (UK) UK | Pitch first | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Public Books US / global | Pitch first | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Publishers Weekly US / global | Open | $25 - $50 | About 200 words (sample review… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Reactor (formerly Tor.com) US / global | Pitch first | unpublished (page says they pay for original content, rates sent on… | 1,000-2,500 for nonfiction pitches | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Reason US / global | Pitch first | $500 for a full-length review | 600-5,000 (magazine); 600-1,000 typical… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| San Francisco Chronicle US / global | No public guidelines | $350-$450; $100 kill fee | Reviews 600 words +/-; features 900… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Slate US / global | Pitch first | Rates start at $350, increase with reporting/scope (NBCC sheet; not… | 1,000-1,200 (NBCC sheet) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| St. Louis Post-Dispatch US / global | No public guidelines | $85 and up | 400-600 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Star Tribune (Minneapolis) US / global | Pitch first | $150 | 450 words | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Still Point: Poetry & Culture US / global | Calls only | No pay (unpaid, no fee) | Poetry-book reviews 750-1,500 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Sydney Review of Books Australia | Closed | $1,500 flat for published longform articles (per excerpt of the Write… | 3,000-5,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Atlanta Journal-Constitution US / global | No public guidelines | ~$250 | 925 words | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Atlantic (Books/Culture) US / global | Pitch first | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Baffler US / global | Pitch first | 'All contributions ... are paid' (amount not on page); NBCC sheet… | 2,200-5,000 preferred for prose (page);… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Believer US / global | Closed | unpublished | Features typically 4,000-8,000… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Boston Globe US / global | No public guidelines | $450 | 800 words | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Brooklyn Rail US / global | Pitch first | $75 (NBCC sheet, 3/17/23) | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Christian Science Monitor US / global | Pitch first | $200 | 750-800 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Common US / global | Pitch first | $200 (NBCC sheet, 6/19/23) | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Critic (UK) UK | Open | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Drift US / global | Pitch first | $2,000 for essays; $25 for 'Mentions' (1-4 sentence reviews) | 3,000-5,000 typical for essays (no… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Ex-Puritan (formerly The Puritan) Canada | Open | $100 | 1500-5000 for reviews | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Guardian (Books) UK | Pitch first | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Johannesburg Review of Books South Africa | Pitch first | Pays for published writing (amount not stated on the pages seen) | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Markaz Review US / global | Pitch first | Honorarium paid within 30 days of publication (amount not stated on… | 1,000-3,000 for reviews/essays;… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Millions US / global | No public guidelines | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Nation US / global | Pitch first | $950-$1,250 print (NBCC sheet; not stated on page) | 2,250-4,500 print (NBCC sheet) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The New Criterion US / global | No public guidelines | $100 | 1,000-3,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The New Republic US / global | Pitch first | $500-$2000 for print, $250-400 for web. | 1,500-1,800 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The New Yorker US / global | Closed | On web, 75c/word up to $1000 | across print and web, anywhere from… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Point Magazine US / global | Open | unpublished | Print essays 3,000-6,000; reviews… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Rumpus (Criticism) US / global | Open | $500 reviews & essays; $200 interviews | Pitch 500 words or less; completed… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Toronto Review of Books Canada | Pitch first | $150 for published prose; $125 for interviews | Reviews up to 3,000 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Wall Street Journal US / global | No public guidelines | $400-$1,000 | 1,000-1,800 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| The Yale Review US / global | Open | $250-$1,000 for prose depending on length; $150 for poems | 2,000-5,000 typical, occasionally longer | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Times Literary Supplement (TLS) UK | No public guidelines | unpublished | not recorded | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| USA Today US / global | No public guidelines | $300 | 600 words | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Vulture US / global | Pitch first | $300-$800 | 500-2500 | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Wasafiri UK | Closed | unpublished | Critical articles 6,000-9,000;… | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Washington Independent Review of Books US / global | Pitch first | $25 for reviews (NBCC sheet, 1/20/22); pay for pitched essays not on… | 750-900 for reviews (NBCC sheet) | Last checked (0 days ago) |
| Words Without Borders US / global | Pitch first | $175 book reviews; $175 interviews; nonfiction $150/1,000 words… | Not stated for reviews (general avg.… | Last checked (0 days ago) |